MSCHE Accreditation

The Middle States Commission of Higher Education is a voluntary, non-governmental, membership association that defines, maintains, and promotes educational excellence across institutions with diverse missions, student populations, and resources. It examines each institution as a whole, rather than specific programs within institutions.

In 2014, the Middle States Commission revised its standards and requirements due to changes happening in higher education. The revision resulted in 7 newly articulated standards, to which Manhattan College must meet or exceed.

  • Standard I: Mission and Goals 
  • Standard II: Ethics and Integrity 
  • Standard III: Design and delivery of student learning experiences 
  • Standard IV: Support of the Student Experience 
  • Standard V: Educational Effectiveness 
  • Standard VI: Planning, Resources, and Institutional Improvement 
  • Standard VII: Governance, Leadership, and Administration 

Manhattan College was one of the original 58 institutions first accredited by the Middle States Commission in 1921. We are considered a founding member.