Campus Contacts and Resources

09.19.16_Thomas-Hall-renovations_003.jpg

Student veterans are encouraged to take advantage of the expansive resources available to them at Manhattan College.

The following contacts and offices may be helpful to you.

 

 Veteran Contacts

  • Admissions

    Troy Cogburn, Director of Transfer Admissions
    O’Malley, 6th Floor
    718-862-7299
    troy.cogburn@manhattan.edu

    Provides support for any veteran who is transferring credit from other institution(s).  He will also help with basic information on the steps of the admissions process.

    Admissions Website

  • Financial Aid and School Certifying Official

    Adeline Newman, Associate Director of Financial Aid Administration
    Thomas Hall, 3rd Floor
    718-862-7382
    anewman01@manhattan.edu 

    The Certifying Official meets with new and returning veteran and dependent students on a regular basis to make sure their benefits (GI Bill, Yellow Ribbon, etc.) are activated within a timely fashion with the New York State Veterans Affairs office. In addition, she can discuss verification process and loan options.

  • Veterans Success Programs

    Tiana Sloan, Director of Veterans Success Programs
    Thomas Hall, 2nd floor
    718-862-8149 
    tiana.sloan@manhattan.edu 

    Veterans Success Programs serves as a central point of contact for student veterans and oversees all veterans' events and programs.

  • Veterans At Ease

    Stephen Kaplan: Professor, Religious Studies and Director for Veterans at Ease
    Miguel Hall 432
    718-862-7113
    stephen.kaplan@manhattan.edu 

    Stephen Kaplan, Ph.D. oversees the Veterans at Ease Program, which includes retreat programs for stress reduction, building bonds between veteran-students, and building bonds between veteran-students and Manhattan College faculty in order to facilitate the successful transition to civilian/academic life.

    Veterans at Ease Program

Veteran Resources 

  • Academic Advisement

    Academic Advisement

    Manhattan College offers more personal, one-on-one contact and support than most other colleges, including the service of an academic advisor, in addition to faculty advisors.

    O’Malley School of Business
    Rhonda Shuler
    De La Salle Hall 201 | 718-862-7439 | rhonda.shuler@manhattan.edu 

    School of Continuing & Professional Studies
    Rosemary Osso
    RLC 2FL | 718-862-7870 | rosemary.osso@manhattan.edu

    School of Education & Health
    Loretta Wilkins
    Miguel Hall 205 | 718-862-7291 | loretta.wilkins@manhattan.edu

    School of Engineering
    Richard Schneider
    Leo Hall 201 | 718-862-7282 | richard.schneider@manhattan.edu

    School of Liberal Arts
    Dianna Cruz

    Miguel Hall 210 | 718-862-7956 | dianna.cruz@manhattan.edu

    Angie Thrapsimis
    Miguel Hall 210 | 718-862-7955 | angie.thrapsimis@manhattan.edu 

    School of Science
    Darcy Lis-Beglane
    Hayden Hall 506 | 718-862-7721 | darcy.lis-beglane@manhattan.edu

  • Academic Support and Tutoring

    The Center for Academic Success provides programs and initiatives to help the learning experience of all students. This includes peer tutoring, individual tutoring, study groups and online tutoring.  Your academic coach will help you focus on long-term and short-term goals, time-management, study skills, and test-taking strategies. 

    Sarah Glessner, Learning Specialist, Center for Academic Success
    Thomas Hall, 3rd Floor
    718-862-7753
    sglessner01@manhattan.edu 

  • Counseling Center

    The Counseling Center services are provided at no charge to help students reach their educational goals and work through any personal issues that are causing anxiety or distress. Regular office hours are 9 a.m.-4:30 p.m., but evening appointments are also available by request. There are various types of assistance available, including short-term individual counseling, student groups that meet weekly, private consultation, crisis intervention, referrals to local mental health resources, substance abuse screening and referrals, and educational programs.

    Jennifer McArdle, Director
    Miguel Hall 501
    718-862-7975
    jennifer.mcardle@manhattan.edu 

  • Office of Career Pathways

    The Office of Career Pathways offers numerous programs and resources to assist with transitioning academic experience into professional success. Each of our undergraduate schools have a dedicated career advisor in the Center for Career Development who can provide guidance regarding choosing a major, career paths and job opportunities. In addition, the Center for Graduate School and Fellowship Advisement helps provide our graduating students and alumni who interested in applying to graduate or professional schools, or to external fellowships.

    Br. Ralph Bucci, FSC
    Career Development Recruitment Coordinator
    rbucci01@manhattan.edu

  • O'Malley Library

    Your liaison at the O’Malley Library will provide library information and research classes, personalized instruction, and workshops to help you maximize your college success.

    Bernadette Lopez-Fitzsimmons, Librarian
    O’Malley Library 306
    718-862-7982
    bernadette.lopez@manhattan.edu

  • Specialized Resource Center

    The Specialized Resource Center serves all students with special needs including individuals with a temporary disability, such as those resulting from injury or surgery. Use of services is voluntary, strictly confidential, and free of charge.

    Anne Vaccaro
    Thomas Hall, 3rd Floor
    718-862-7409
    anne.vaccaro@manhattan.edu

  • Student Accounts and Bursar Services

    Students who enroll at Manhattan College will work with Student Accounts and Bursar Services to discuss financing options and set up payment plans.

    Christina Cardinale, Assistant Director of Student Accounts and Bursar Services
    Miguel Hall, 100
    718-862-7363
    christina.cardinale@manhattan.edu 

     


Veteran Program Opportunities: