Jaspers Vote

Image showing bronze award in 2018 and Presidential Signature Award in 2020

Jaspers Vote is our Manhattan College campaign to get MORE Jaspers to register and vote!! Our Voter Engagement Committee has made a 2020 Plan to increase our participation rate at Manhattan College. In the 2016 Presidential election, 42% of Manhattan College students voted -- in 2020, we’re aiming for 57%!!

Here’s our plan for how to increase student participation in the 2020 election and beyond! 

The Voter Engagement Committee meets periodically to strategize on how to meet our goals. If you want to get involved, email jaspersvote@manhattan.edu  or follow us on Instagram @mc_jaspersvote

How many Jaspers have voted in recent elections?

Manhattan College participates in the National Study of Learning, Voting and Engagement (NSLVE), to learn about the voting habits of our students. While WHO you vote for remains private, we can find out HOW MANY Manhattan College students are registered and voted. The chart below shows Manhattan College participation in the last two national elections.  

Manhattan College NSLVE Campus Voting Data: At a Glance

graph showing that 61.3% of registered student voters voted in 2016 compared to 36.9% in 2018

* Institute for Democracy & Higher Education/Tufts Jonathan M. Tisch College of Civic Life

President Brennan O’Donnell signed the Higher Education Presidents’ Commitment to Full Student Voter Participation, and authorized the College’s participation in NSLVE since September 2016. Recognizing the responsibility of colleges and universities to prepare students to be informed and active citizens, and the importance of the student voice in elections, President O'Donnell encourages the college community to consider the ways curricular and extra-curricular experiences can support the development of students to become lifelong voters and engaged participants in their communities. Manhattan College earned a Bronze seal for its participation rate in the 2018 election, and we aim to earn a higher award for higher participation in the 2020 election.